Those Pesky Time-Consuming Minutes

Time is passing you by

Time is passing you by

I just read a blog by someone I really admire. This person, who I will not identify as I like to think of myself as a lady (though those who know me might laugh) was ruminating over Twitter and complained, “I spend minutes a day there.” You need context here. This person meant that Twitter took minutes a day for him to review, precious minutes. It was written in the way someone complaining of a long commute might say, “I spend hours a day on the 405.”

I love the Internet. I complain like mad when I am not connected quickly to a site. When Twitter or Facebook load slowly, I often close out and walk away from the computer, or move on to another site. If it takes seconds to load, as in multiple seconds, I am out of there. Which makes me think, “Oh. My. God. I’ve become one of those people.” You know the kind of people I am talking about. They cut you off on the freeway, they jump ahead of you in line, saying, “I just have a quick question.” They don’t have time to apologize for being rude. They don’t have time, any time, not a second to spare, ever. When we complain that we spend minutes a day on Twiiter, you know the rules have changed. The truth is, we really don’t have time. Every day, I look at my to-do list and  there are items left unscratched. They get pushed to the next day, which pushes other items down a day. My dog goes unhugged, my dry-cleaning lies in a heap on the closet floor, my diet is never started, my trainer wonders why I say, “but I really don’t have time to work-out,” and my friends make comments like, “I haven’t seen you since Christmas.”

You may think I am now going to give you a solution to our chronic lack of time. You may think that I am going to lecture on the importance of making time. No, that is not going to happen. I don’t have time to do that. All I can say is we live in a world where time matters more than ever. If you have something to say, something to sell, or something to promote, get in, get it done, and get out. Times up.

Leave a Reply

