Unplugged, Offline, Disconnected . . . and Loving It?

13_unplugged2Audacious Ink is taking a short break while I try an experiment I’ve been meaning to do for some time now: I am going to unplug from the Internet for a couple of weeks. That’s right. You heard me correctly. No Twitter, no Facebook, no You Tube or My Space. Listen to this: I won’t even read email. Well, not much at least.

I am a firm believer that every now and then we just need to disconnect. I don’t do it often, but when I find myself stressed out and looking for my “happy place,” I think of a time when I was in Antigua, floating on a raft in the low waves, with the warm sun beating down on my back and the clear blue sea underneath me. I didn’t know what was going on at the office, I didn’t know if the world was still running across the ocean or what the stock market looked like or how much money was in my checking account or anything. All I knew was that as soon as I could get the beach-side waiter’s attention, I was going to order another Pina Colada. And I did. It was good. That, folks, is my happy place, and it does not involve a computer.

So for the next ten or twelve days, I am going to read books, you know, the kind printed on paper. I am going to start a conversation face-to-face with a stranger. I’m going to people-watch in a cafe. I’m going to snap some photos and contemplate printing them instead of uploading them. I’m not going to check Facebook to see the moment-by-moment happenings of some of my friends (I don’t need to know when someone just got out of the shower or that they are about to go to the dry-cleaners), and I’m definitely not touching Twitter where if I hear the phrase “affiliate marketing” one more time I’m going to commit the Twitter version of murder and “Unfollow” some twits. I’m not going to have CNN on in the background, running constantly, talking about divisive masses who can’t agree on squat.

Here’s something we can all agree on, though: we have information overload. The average American sees over 3,000 advertising messages a day, thanks to TV, radio, print, online, and especially now social media. I would like to trim that number by half for just a couple of weeks. In the process of doing so, I’m going to notice what kind of thoughts and ideas seep into my mind. I’m going to jot them down, via pen and paper. I’m going to experience life like it’s 1984, and not the future 1984, but pre-1984, the 1984 where we complained about Nancy Reagan’s bitchiness, and “Born in the USA” topped the charts.

So until I return around mid-October for more blogging and musings on marketing and the written word, I wish you well. I wish you rest, relaxation, great thoughts, original ideas, and a marvelous lack of streaming data bombarding your senses. Oh, but do watch Mad Men. I mean, you can only take this disconnecting from the world thing so far, you know?

One response to “Unplugged, Offline, Disconnected . . . and Loving It?

  1. Way to go – happy dis-connect

Leave a Reply

