Facebook Places, or, “Why Do I Eat Out So Much?”

Last weekend, I became the world’s last social media marketing geek to sign up for Foursquare. I was reluctant to do so, because living in Los Angeles, I thought, “why would I want potential weirdos to know my location?” And no, I wasn’t just referring to my own social circle. Anyway, I checked in at Lulu’s Beehive for breakfast. I checked in at the cafe at Bloomingdale’s for lunch. I checked in at Pinot Bistro for dinner. At some point, I realized that I was only checking in at places I ate, and I was confusing the above mentioned social circle, as I was always complaining about how I need to lose ten pounds. Now they know not only know why I need to lose ten pounds, but they are wondering why the only time I leave my house is to go eat.

Then Facebook had to go and do their own version of Foursquare. Here’s a useful article from CNN on how to use it. Read and enjoy. I’ll be at lunch. If you want to know where, just check it out on Foursquare.

Leave a Reply

