If Sinatra Used Facebook

Blame it on the late night pizza, or blame it on too much Facebooking, but the other night I dreamt Sinatra was still alive and was a Facebook friend of mine. He posted on his wall, “Who’s up for a gas? Party at my place this weekend in Palm Springs. Lots of dames, but no booze. Who am I kidding? There will be booze. The faucet will flow. Bring your bird.” If you are a big Sinatra fan, you know the translation for that Frankenspeak, and when he says “Birds,” he’s not talking canaries.

I’ve read a lot of bios on Sinatra in my day, and right now, my boyfriend is currently going through a Sinatra phase. No, he hasn’t resorted to referring to me as his “dame,” or “broad,” but he is heavy into the music and the lore of Sinatra. The crooner is the epitome of Old School. He was a sociable guy who liked to do his socializing face-to-face. These days, I hear the term “Facebook friend” more than I do the term “Friend.” Sinatra, I think, would laugh at Facebook, calling all of us users “Big Galoots,” and “Clydes.”

I’m just old enough to realize that for the majority of my life, I socialized the Sinatra way; well, minus the dames and much of the booze. I now socialize the online way: I update Facebook on a daily basis, multiple times a day—for my clients. On a much less frequent basis, I will update it for me, and when I do, I keep it to cocktail party talk. I know some people who share deep and meaningful revelations on their profile page, and I cringe. Not because I’m embarrassed for them (though I sometimes am. Here’s a tip guys: Never refer to how much the bail for last night’s drunken brawl cost you). I cringe because I have a hard time posting something intimate and personal to an audience that I actually know. It’s easier to confess when you are unsure of who the audience will be, or if there will even be an audience.

Sinatra, on the other hand, was one who shrugged off deep personal confessions. If he wanted to let you know how he felt (so I’ve read, it’s not like I knew him) he’d give you a look. You can’t give a look on Facebook.

Sinatra is probably a good example of why social media is not for everyone. No doubt, his management team would have an official page for him. They would hire someone like me to do the updates. If it were me, I’d probably post something cheery and upbeat like this:

“Name that tune! ”I’d sacrifice anything come what might
For the sake of having you near
In spite of a warning voice that comes in the night
And repeats, repeats in my ear.’ Okay fans, what song is that? Hint: He recorded this song while at Capital Records!”

Then, fans would write in, and because they are fans, would know it’s “I’ve Got You Under My Skin.” Someone would invariably get the song wrong, “No, no, no. It’s Angel Eyes.” Then someone else would comment under their comment, “Moron. Get off this Page.”

And so on.

Now, compare this to Sinatra, the real Sinatra, and what he might post. At first glance, his fan page would be cluttered with thousands of wall posts from fans, saying, “Your music is the soundtrack to my life, sir,” and stuff like that. Or they would post a line from his repertoire. “A summer wind, came blowing in, from across the sea . . ..”

At the bottom of the wall, there would be one lonesome post from Ol’ Blue Eyes. “Every one tells me I should be on this thing called The Face Book. So here I am. Now what do I do? Seems like a waste of time. I’m getting my bird outta here. It’s cocktail time. Where’s my Gentleman’s Jack? Someone call Sammy. Tell him to get over here.”

Social media is not for everyone. It’s probably not for really cool crooners who want to party face-to-face with the Rat Pack and who, in their own playful way, scorn the masses. If Sinatra were alive, Facebook would probably not be for him. That’s okay. And that is the first thing you should ask yourself if you are thinking about launching a Page. “Is it for me?” “Do I have the patience and enthusiasm to stay with this?” “If not, do I have the resources to outsource this or delegate to a team member?” If the answer is “No” to all the above, hold off. Social Media is here to stay, and while it’s better to get in earlier than later, as you are all that much more ahead, it’s disastrous to jump in when you are not fully on-board.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m late for a party with some crazy cats in Palm Springs. It will be a gas.

Leave a Reply

