My Marketing Sins and Yom Kippur

While I’m not Jewish, last night I did go to my boyfriend’s parents’ house for a somewhat traditional Yom Kippur “breaking-the-fast” dinner. I say somewhat traditional because tuna salad and macaroni and cheese were on the menu. And no, it wasn’t a concession for me, they just like tuna salad and mac and cheese.

The subject of atoning for our sins never came up, but by the second or third glass of wine, I started thinking about my sins: my marketing sins. I reflected on the last year and offenses I committed:

1. I was late to the game on location-based social networking. I shunned Gowalla. I rejected Foursquare. I said, “Whatever,” to Whrrrl. Don’t get me started on Facebook Places. I finally got on board by accepting Gowalla and Foursquare into my life, but I’ve largely ignored them. I did check in on Foursquare during a recent business trip, which led to much Twittering with some friends, and for a brief moment, I saw the light. Then I remembered that there was a stalkerish side to Foursquare and have not cracked it open since. Maybe today.

2. I have not been good about picking up the phone and calling clients that I have not spoken to in a while. Or as we tend to call it in the marketing world, “Hugging my clients.” I guess I’m not a hugger.

3. I have forsaken my blog all too often. The number one commandment of blogging is “Feed The Beast.” My beast is a size 2 given the amount of blogging I’ve done. This is a beast that could use some mac and cheese a few times a week.

4. I have ditched networking events in favor of television. Yes, I’ve skipped a networking event or two this year if something were on TV that I really wanted to do. I think this act alone may send me straight to marketing Hell.

5. I sent out a press release recently that had photos attached, but neglected to add the photo captions at the end of the release. Oy.

6. I listened to a client’s direction on a project, and then left out a key element (focus on males 18-25) and pitched too feminine an idea. They didn’t reject it—and it cost them. Double Oy. They shrugged it off, but this is one sin I’m never going to stop atoning for. Always listen to what the client is telling you–it could cost both of you otherwise.

I think a half dozen sins is a good place to stop. I’m sure the list could go on and on, and given that it is me, on. I’ve confessed my sins (which I think is technically a Catholic term, which I’m also not) and now I’m going to do my best to atone. Though despite this gesture, the only beast I may continue to feed regularly is my pup Winston.

Leave a Reply

