Mashable’s Best-of 2010

If you missed this in Mashable, here are 290 Social Media Resources to catch up on. As a little belated Christmas gift, here are my top 4 favorite resources that I embraced in 2010, and why I can’t live without them.

1. Hootsuite. I’ve written about it enough that this is probably no surprise. Simply put, I could not do my job effectively without Hootsuite. I manage all my clients accounts, especially their Twitter accounts, through Hootsuite. I can schedule Facebook updates in advance, which is essential for when I’m traveling. It is also the best game in town for Twitter analytics. If you have not started using Hootsuite yet, do!

2. Tumblr. Yeah, it sounds crazy that someone with a WordPress blog would advocate Tumblr, but I have a personal blog over there, too. For me, experiencing Tumblr is a little like suddenly walking into a brainstorming session with a bunch of creative, out-there, free-thinking renegades. It’s where, among others, the artists seem to be hanging out online. I frequently get different perspectives and inspiration from people who I would never otherwise be exposed to in a place like, say, Linked In. With all due respect to Linked In, which is a great place to go to share more conventional business advice and best practices.

3. Stumble Upon. Stumble Upon can be tedious, but it’s one of those sites where the more you use it, and the more it gets to “know” your preferences, the more interesting articles and sites you are exposed to. It’s another great place for creative inspiration, or to simply learn something new.

4. Delicious. I can’t survive without my online bookmarking site. I can accesss it anywhere, on my computer or phone, or someone else’s computer and instantly get linked to an article I read six months ago that I suddenly have to re-read. I use it as my online library and research center and it goes where I go.

Leave a Reply

