How to tag a person on Facebook

Today, for the gazillionth time, I saw someone do a failed tag on Facebook. If I had a dollar for every time I saw someone type “Hey, @[insert name of failed tag] check this out” I would not be blogging, but would be living in the Hollywood Hills looking down on the world literally, as opposed to metaphorically.

Do I sound grouchy? I might be. I don’t ask for much in life. I’m not a member of the grammar police, so go ahead and dangle your modifiers. I’m not politically sensitive, so go ahead and criticize whichever politician you want. I don’t care what your clothes look like, and I don’t care if you are overweight, and prefer cats to dogs. Good lord, though, if you tag wrong on Facebook, I may delete you as a Facebook friend.

So here is how you tag. It’s really simple.

First, make sure you are either Facebook friends with the person you want to tag, or if it’s a brand, that you first “Like” their page. You cannot tag a person or brand you are not connected to on Facebook.

Next, as you are writing your update, hit the “@” before the person or brand’s name you want to tag. So type “@” then start typing in the name, such as John Doe. You have to use both the first and last name of the person. You cannot type in just “John.” The tag, if done correctly (meaning it’s linked to my page and posted on my walll) will say “Hey, @John Doe.” Facebook will automatically offer a pop up menu the moment you start typing after the @ sign with all the possible names that fit the letters you are typing. So the moment you hit “Jo” in “John” every company and friend whose name begins with a “Jo” pops up. Select the name you are trying to tag.

You are done. You have properly tagged a person. Take a look at your update. If it was John Doe you are trying to tag, John’s name will not have the @ sign in front of it, but will appear as a slightly different color, the universal sign for “hey, click here on this officially tagged name.”

If you are stubborn and want to type in only the first name, for example, “@John,” all this does is put “@John” in your update. John will not be tagged. People will think you do not know how to do one of the most basic functions in Facebook. They will go to Twitter and make fun of you. The world will spin backwards. Meteors will crash into the Earth. Dogs will howl–maybe because the world is spinning backwards and meteors are crashing into the Earth, but understand this: it will be your fault.

So do not tag incorrectly. Thank you.

3 responses to “How to tag a person on Facebook

  1. What a great question! I’m not 100% sure, but to the best of my knowledge, no, there is not a function for list tags–does anyone who is reading this know? If I’m right and there is not a way to make such a tagged list, then I think it’s a function Facebook should add. Thanks, Ali!

  2. You know, facebook recently updated their tagging feature. You can now have only part of the name linked when you tag a person. The trick is to delete the rest of the name once fb’s recognized who you’re talking about.
    That, and I love your style.

  3. First of all, thank you! Second, yes, I was aware of the change and boy, I know what you mean about deleting the name. My peeve is that if I want to write out the first name of someone, but not tag them, FB starts giving me all these options to tag friends. Ugh. So I spend a few moments hitting that delete button, trying to convince the system that I really just want to write down a first name and not tag. Maybe I should do a new posting called, “It’s Okay Not to Tag.” 😉 Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

